Tank Girl

My Friends

No users have been added to Tank Girl's friends list.
62 years old
Louisville, NE

Shared Favorites

  • Tank Girl has not yet identified any favorite posts.
View all favorites

My Bio

I grew up an Air Force "brat", and spent many of my pre-teen years in Europe.  I loved living there and gained a deep appreciation for gems, art and crystal.  Old enough to love it, too young to buy any of it.  I never in my wildest dreams thought I could create a beautiful piece of jewelry.  I'm not a gemologist, silversmith, I don't have an art degree, but I always had the desire to create, just not the confidence.

I married a Nebraska farmer 36 years ago, and 20 years ago, I inherited some costume jewelry from my husband's family.  They were, for the most part, old and falling apart.  I couldn't get rid of them, so I took them apart and started happily restringing.  Fast forward 15 years.  I found the leftover beads and glass pearls again, and decided to rekindle that need to bead.  It worked!  I am addicted to the craft so much that, if I go to a bead store for a tool and they don't  have it, I'll buy some crystal or stones.  It makes the trips worthwhile, and only a couple of times have I duplicated an already duplicated bead.

My husband is very supportive, and patiently puts up with my clutter, and the occasional bag of beads in his shoe that one of my cat's stole.  He's helped  me set up at shows and fairs, and actually stayed quite a while before he left me to the masses.  He calls me at work to let me know I got another "bag of gravel" in the mail.  I have finally taken the plunge, got a tax ID, and started my tiny little company, "dragonfly".  I still lack complete confidence that my product is all that sellable, but each time someone finds a piece, loves it and buys it, I get a little better.

Donna Keil