My Fireline Revelation

This post has 119 Replies | 6 Followers rated by 1 users
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 363
Ruth. wrote
on Apr 30, 2010 12:18 PM

Kathy - To keep fireline from cutting into my finger I use the bandaid brand "blister" band aids. They are a rubbery gel type construction and can be reused. I have poked myself with the needle and it doesn't go through. I found them at a discount grocery place for .50 and have been hooked ever since.

Shippensburg Pennsylvania - about 30 minutes from Gettysburg

Not Ranked
Posts 1
catteo wrote
on Jun 8, 2010 7:25 PM

Hi!

I am new to beading and was trying to find out more about Fireline when I come across this message. Can I use Fireline to string stones (chips). I am trying to make a necklace without any clasp.

Thanking you in advance for your precious guidance and advice.

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 1,477
ForumModerator
LinaG2 wrote
on Jun 8, 2010 8:09 PM

Personally, I would only use fireline for weaving projects...not a necklace.  If you want to string some chips on to make a necklace with no clasp, I would use elastic.

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 5,471
ForumModerator
JSmaz wrote
on Jun 9, 2010 4:58 AM

Not sure about the elastic for something that will weigh quite a bit, but that's MHO.  I'd use nylon coated beading wire (Accuflex, Beadalon, SoftFlex, etc) and just string as much as you want, then run each end of the wire through a crimp bead and crimp it.  That should hold just fine.

Jeni

Oklahoma City

ArtFire Studio & blog  |  Gallery 

Not Ranked
Posts 2
on Sep 22, 2010 11:44 AM