Harden Wire

This post has 9 Replies | 1 Follower
Not Ranked
Posts 9
DOCami wrote
on Feb 27, 2010 6:41 PM

I would like to make hoop earrings and I need to know how to harden the wire. I have read tutorials and info in these forums but I can't seem to get the wire to harden. I am new to beading and am broke so I have limited supplies. Here is what I have:

Art wire 20g

Nylon hammer

watchmaker's hammer that has interchangeable heads: brass flat, steel flat, and poly flat

2 thick plates: 1 aluminum and 1 steel (subs for a proper anvil)

I have tried hammering with all the above on all of the above including a cutting board (dont try that) and a countertop surface. I can't get the wire to harden at all. I can get it to do that curling/creeping thing people talk abt but that is abt it. Please help!!

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 774
yeli wrote
on Feb 27, 2010 8:04 PM

Have you tried 18g?

Some wires are softer than others.  Maybe it's the brand.

Can you tell me the brand and type of wire? Is it silver?

You also have to know that wire hardens, but not too much. 

There are some projects that cannot be completed in 20g.

Not Ranked
Posts 9
DOCami wrote
on Feb 28, 2010 12:53 AM

Its Beadalon ColourCraft permanently colored copper craft wire.

I would like to try 18g but unfortunately lack the funds atm. 

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 5,471
ForumModerator
JSmaz wrote
on Feb 28, 2010 4:50 AM

Most of the colored copper wire does tend to be pretty soft, and 20 gauge is on the thin side, so I can understand the issue you're having.  I'm guessing you're just trying to make simple hoops, and the 20g may just be too thin to get very hard.  If you're willing to experiment you could try wire-wrapping the hoops and that would add strength to it, but that may not be the look you want.

Jeni

Oklahoma City

ArtFire Studio & blog  |  Gallery 

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 3,191
Pam I am wrote
on Feb 28, 2010 5:19 AM