Stringing using stretch cord

This post has 12 Replies | 4 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 24
jag@2 wrote
on Jan 26, 2009 5:19 AM

Confused Hello everybody!  I am trying (for the first time) to use stretch cord when making a "bracelet" for a watch.  How do you attach the cord to the watch.  Do you use crimp beads?  It seems like they might cut the cord.  This may not be a good idea, but it seems like I have seen this type of thing in some of those catalogs I get by the hundreds in the mail!!! Any help would certainly be appreciated.Smile

wrote
on Jan 26, 2009 7:42 AM

Some people like to use crimps, but I would be afraid to for the reason you mentioned.  I suppose you would just wrap the stretch cord around the bar on either side of the watch face, then go back through your beadwork and knot it.  If you have enough space between the bar and the face, you could string a few seed beads around the bar to hide the cord.

I've never done a watch band before though, so someone else may have a better idea.

Top 75 Contributor
Posts 502
Editor
on Jan 26, 2009 8:01 AM

On my beaded watch, I used two elastic cords, one for each end of the watch. I tied a lark's head knot on each side of the watch face, strung the beads and then tied a square knot with both cords.  I tucked the square knot into one of the beads to hide it.

http://www.beadingdaily.com/blogs/daily/archive/2009/01/02/using-elastic-in-jewelry-designs.aspx

Good luck!  Let us know what you decide to do!

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 791
on Jan 26, 2009 10:38 AM