Choosing a beading loom

This post has 54 Replies | 7 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 4
on Sep 14, 2013 6:29 PM

Hi All

I'm fairly new to beading but am interesting in getting a beading loom.  At this time am primarily going to be making bracelets and bookmarks, similar items keychains etc.  Have been looking around online and notice a different ones.  a very basic one for about $5 to $6.  A semi basic one for a little bit more at $10-$12.  And the Ricks Beading Loom for at least $50 on average

Would be interested in hearing opinions on which ones you like or dont like and why/why not.  The Ricks beading loom I like the idea of only two threads left over.  although it seems like the draw back maybe that you dont have extra thread room if you need it and have to set up the correct thread size to start with.  

thanks

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 1,493
D.M.Z wrote
on Sep 14, 2013 7:58 PM

Suzanne, I have a total of nine looms here in my bead cave at present. There are several sizes and types represented here. 

I have four looms at present that finish up with 2 to 4 threads only, a good starter loom for that type of weaving is the Versa Loom at about $25.00, it has a pretty good instruction booklet with it. Not expensive and you'll learn the method of finishing with only a few threads. It's only flaw is that you can only do projects that are in increments of 1/2" from like 2-1/2" to 15" by using the various inserts.......they mix and match to make the length you want and are not difficult to deal with.