Did you know this about pearls?

This post has 15 Replies | 2 Followers
Top 25 Contributor
Posts 2,114
Sherri S. wrote
on Jan 17, 2009 3:49 PM

Hi everyone,

I recently made a necklace for a doctor I work with that included Swarovski crystals and freshwater pearls, and she told me something I didn't know about pearls.

She said that for years, she kept a strand of her mother's pearls in a safe which needed restringing, and when she finally got around to taking them to a jeweler to be restrung, the jeweler told her that the pearls were ruined.  Evidently, pearls need air in order to maintain their luster. 

I've been stringing for 4 years and whenever I go to the bead shows, the pearls I buy are given to me in plastic ziplocs.  I've been leaving them in the ziplocs until I use them - evidently you shouldn't store them in plastic because they can't breathe! 

So, if you store your pearls in baggies, you should take them out of the baggies so they can breathe and maintain their luster.

Sherri S.

Check out my Etsy Store......

http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=6321824

Check out my Etsy Beads Store.......

http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=7141344

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 2,815
ForumModerator
Sheila H wrote
on Jan 17, 2009 3:55 PM

Never knew that one! The only thing I ever knew about pearls was that you should not wear them in water as it can slowly wear them down/away. I don't know if that is actually true or not.

Are there any pearl experts out there to help us out on this one? I bet Deb could help if she ever surfaces from inputting inventory. Deb - Where are you and how is it coming? Do we need to send the search parties out?

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 2,114
Sherri S. wrote
on Jan 17, 2009 4:03 PM