Help! Antique braided, twisted beaded necklace redux.

This post has 7 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 4
on Jun 21, 2013 6:54 PM

I'll start by saying I''m a complete novice and I decided to undertake a project that turned out to be over my head.

I have a necklace from my grandmother that is a thick braid of tiny white coral beads. Each of the 3 braid lines has one strand of larger beads and one strand that is made of 3 strands of tiny beads wrapped around a thick cotton cord (this is where the problem lies).

The clasp broke and as I was trying to replace it, the thin cotton strings on the tiny beads started breaking and falling everywhere. I disassembled it and it looked easy enough to re-bead. Ha! 

Does someone have advice on how to wrap the 3 strands around either the existing cotton cord or a suggestion for a replacement that won't coil up on itself and make an utter mess of the situation? Any suggestion on what type of "string" I should use for the beads?

Much thanks!!

Before:

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 567
Beadiecat wrote
on Jun 21, 2013 10:42 PM

Maybe bead crochet? I don't know how to do bead crochet, but it looks like the pictures I've seen of it.Except that I don't think bead crochet is done around a thicker cord, unless it somehow creates a cord in the middle as you crochet it.

Maybe someone who knows a little more about that can come along and advise you. Good luck, it's a beautiful piece.

Cat

The Cat's Meow Blog

My RebelMouse page and Etsy shop

Not Ranked
Posts 4
on Jun 26, 2013 6:26 PM

It's definitely not bead crochet- that is way above my skill level and I wouldn't have tried to attempt it. I carefully disassembled it and the small bead strands were simply just wrapped around a cotton cord that was tied together on each end. It seemed really simple but when I try to wrap the strands it keeps twisting up on itself. Not sure what to do to replicate it :(

Top 75 Contributor
Posts 515
tcwhit wrote
on Jun 26, 2013 7:00 PM