Hi all--I'm new and have a question about tools

This post has 9 Replies | 1 Follower
Not Ranked
Posts 1
lorahbee wrote
on Jan 29, 2013 9:19 PM

Hello to All,

I'm brand new to beading. So new in fact I don't have any tools...only lots of beads, lol. So I want to make lovely beadstringed rosary bracelets for myself and my friends, but I have no idea which of the entry (budget) tools are cheap and flimsy and which are good and will last a little while until i'm sure I'm going to stick with beading. I see lots of fairly low cost kits, but really only want the absolute basics. Does anyone have any advice? Weblinks or brand names would be great. Thanks so much in advance!

Laura

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 1,528
D.M.Z wrote
on Jan 30, 2013 12:59 AM

Laura, for your first set, I'd buy from one of the larger suppliers and don't buy their cheapest tools. I would think that to do rosary style beading, you might not need more than one or two tools. rounded nose pliers, pair of cutters. If you can hold the items before you buy I would recommend doing so, you will find some do not fit your hand or are hard to use, don't spring back after use, etc. If  you are going to do lots of loops and twisting your hands can get really tired with bad tools.

I used mid quality tools that I gathered as I went along and just a couple of years ago bought a new batch of tools, just what I use and bought Xuron's tools. Beadsmith sells some of them, the others I got through the same bead shop but they were purchased from Xuron. For what I do, I bought side cutters (like for memory wire and tough stuff), micro shears for regular cutting, a regular plier and a tweezer nose plier.  Old tools that I kept were ones I don't use as much, crimp pliers, split ring pliers, flat pliers, and nylon jaw pliers. Hope this helps you out a bit. Donna

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 33
Pearlescence wrote
on Feb 12, 2013 4:31 PM