less expensive gold options for metal sensitivity - experience with gold filled or vermeil?

This post has 5 Replies | 1 Follower
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 32
Riverains wrote
on Jan 19, 2013 10:38 AM

I am very new to beading and glad I found this forum! I hope to make some affordable jewelry for myself, but I am sensitive to a lot of metals used in jewelry. Mostly I use silver, but would like some gold pieces... but I can't wear gold plated metals. However, I have not tried gold filled or vermeil before. Does anyone have any good/bad experience with gold 'filled' metal or vermeil? Do these tend to cause reactions? 

Thanks!

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 3,290
ForumModerator
SCB1 wrote
on Jan 19, 2013 10:50 AM

I am not crazy for the vermeil pieces, while I love the gold filled. It is very nice, and doesn't turn on you. To find out the difference of the two go to this site,

mainelyurns  "dot"  com/gold-vermeil-sterling-silver.html  you will need to add the   www. to the address, and  you need to also take the "dot" out and put "." in. I did it this way, in hopes that it doesn't go to moderation which it never comes out of. 

Hope this will explain the differences in several metals.

hope this works.

Happy Beading!!

Sue,

Small-town USA. 

Michigan.

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 1,505
D.M.Z wrote
on Jan 19, 2013 12:56 PM