Favorite Overall Online Bead Resource?

This post has 7 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 5
jeannie1106 wrote
on Nov 19, 2012 10:57 AM

Hi everyone! 

I'm new to beading and wire jewelry.  The only catalog I have in my possession is Fire Mountain Gems.  Does anyone have any experience with them?  I'd love to hear about price, quality, etc. as compared to other online resources.  I'd also love to hear about any other highly recommended online resources.  Thank you so much for any information you could provide!

Jeannie

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 1,953
SEllen 2 wrote
on Nov 19, 2012 12:35 PM

Hi Jeanie

I do most of my shopping at FMG. They have good quality products and I have never had an issue with their customer service. They ship promptly and take the time to package each shipment carefully. I've never had anything broken or missing. Even when the post office Squished the box badly.

As for pricing I find that usually FMG will have  the better deal even with the $5.oo shipping. Sometimes the cost is higher than some sites but I usually find when that is the case I'm usually getting more per package from FMG than from the other site. So, you just have to do some comparison shopping. They also have the assortable pricing so the more you buy the bigger your discount.

I also deal with Auntie's Beads (they're in the same state as I am so my beads tend to get to me faster.) They have some great sales and have some of the best How to videos on their site. I haven't had any issues with their quality or with their customer service either. However, I mainly buy their on sale items. And not gemstones as for me they don't give enough information about the gemstones or what the processes ,if any, were used on the stones.