Nylon Thread

This post has 6 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 2
peyotegary wrote
on Nov 6, 2012 3:57 PM

Hi Beading Buddies...I have been beading and everything related to it for about 9 years and a Fireline addict. Am thinking about trying Nylon for a change. What are the pros/cons of same? Thanks, PeyoteGary.

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 62
bellepate wrote
on Nov 6, 2012 4:24 PM

I, too, am a Fireline addict!  I use Nymo only with my bead embroidery, and I hate the stuff.  I know, I know - there are beaders out there who will use nothing else; some very brilliant beaders I admire very much only use it -  but for me it's just too much hassle.  It kinks and knots and frays and breaks too easily.  I use it only when I absolutely have too. You could find you adore using it, though.  My pros and cons are strictly mine - you should find your own by trying it; won't cost you anything but time and a couple of bucks!!

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 1,951
SEllen 2 wrote
on Nov 7, 2012 10:59 AM

Another Fireline addict giving her 2 cents worth.

I use fireline for most everything. But I have been trying to find something a little less expensive for me of late. I cannot buy Fireline locally I must buy on line and with shipping it can get rather expensive. I have tried the Nymo thread and I hate the stuff for me it was a waste of money.  Now I use it only when I absolutely must. Then I use it for bead embroidery only.

I have recently tried the SoNo thread and I'm liking it so far for my bead weaving. Haven't tried it yet on my bead embroidery. It's cheaper than the Fireline and it also comes in a few colors. I get more yardage with the SoNo than with the Fireline. If it works on my bead embroidery then it will be even better.

I agree with bellepate though...it really is a matter of personal preference as to which thread is easiest to use.

sellen Smile

southwest Texas USA

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 1,466
D.M.Z wrote
on Nov 7, 2012 12:33 PM