Need help in understanding the difference in bead manufactures.

This post has 3 Replies | 1 Follower
Not Ranked
Posts 1
luveddi81 wrote
on Oct 31, 2012 2:07 AM

I am new to beading and was wondering if there is much of a difference in bead manufactures than just price? I can find seed beads, czech,  for $1.60 for 45 grams or delica for $1.52 for 7.5 grams. That is a huge difference in quantity for almost the same price and i was wondering why? 

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 1,846
Valbeads wrote
on Oct 31, 2012 5:36 AM

Welcome to our beady family!

And the prices can very in several ways, one of them being if you're doing business with a bead whlesaler as opposed to a beads retailer.  Keep in mind, if you're dealing with a bead wholesaler, they usually expect you to have a business tax ID, and that you're buying in bulk.

Val

Val

boutiquev.us

Top 150 Contributor
Posts 224
KathyK1999 wrote
on Oct 31, 2012 8:15 AM

Delicas and czech seed beads are actually quite different (and both are different from regular Japanese seed beads).  Delicas are very uniform, with thin walls and vertical sides.  Due to the uniformity, they are great for peyote and square stitch, and can easily handle multiple thread passes.  They are actually a bit smaller than a regular size 11 seed bead (closer to size 12), so are not really interchangeable with regular seed beads.  They are lighter than regular seeds, so you get more of them per gram.  In my book, they are worth the extra cost.

Czech seed beads are more donut shaped, with thicker walls and smaller holes, and are less uniform.  I used them in one bracelet, and had trouble getting multiple passes of thread through them.  I much prefer Japanese seed beads!