Hello

This post has 10 Replies | 4 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 7
pernmoreta wrote
on Oct 25, 2012 2:03 AM

My name is Rae, and I'm just barely getting started beading.  Can anyone reccommend a good inexpensive very basic book for complete beginners? 

Many thanks

Top 150 Contributor
Posts 160
xXfantasyXx wrote
on Oct 25, 2012 3:32 AM

Hello Rae, welcome to beading! I'm sure you will have plenty of fun beading all kinds of projects. To get started I suggest you try "The Absolute Beginners Guide: Stringing Beaded Jewelry" by Karin Buckingham & also, " Bead Simple: 150 Designs for Earrings, Necklaces, Bracelets, Embellishments, and More" by Susan Beal. Good luck ;)

xXFantasyXx

Do your best & let God do the restSmile

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 1,867
Valbeads wrote
on Oct 25, 2012 9:16 AM

Hi Rae, and welcome to the wonderful world of beading!  You can also try the e-books here, as well as the video tutorials.  They're absolutely free!  The video tutorials in particular I  found very helpful, because you could see the technique being done.  Enjoy!

Val

Val

boutiquev.us

Top 100 Contributor
Posts 307
Aunty Akoya wrote
on Oct 25, 2012 4:44 PM

Hello Rae,

do you know allready which kind/technic of beading you like much, because there is lots nice books for beginners in every technic, maybe just have look around in amazon for example. What i did, i had a look what material i got and then took a choice which book suits. Or the other way around, picked a book where i adored the jewellery and then gone shopping to get the material i needed....i prefered that way.

A nice affordable book with a bit different basic techniques, is the "Compenidum of Beading Techniques" from Jean Power, for sure its possible to get everywhere, for an example to have a look:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Compendium-Beading-Techniques-Jean-Power/dp/184448436X

Cya

Aunty Akoya

May the beads be with you!

Not Ranked
Posts 7
pernmoreta wrote
on Oct 26, 2012 10:54 PM