I really like this site!

This post has 5 Replies | 3 Followers
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 60
Tank Girl wrote
on Sep 19, 2012 6:37 PM

I've been making gemstone/crystal/antique glass jewelry for a few years.  Thanks to a couple of good friends ("you gotta sell this stuff!!"), I decided to start my very small business.  I still can't believe people really love my jewelry, and I hope I never lose that feeling!  I still give away more than "they" say I should.  My love of putting colors and textures together sort of morphed into this business.  Over the years, I inherited a lot of old costume jewelry (I learned some would have been collectible) that was falling apart.  Instead of giving it away or tossing it, I sorted and cleaned and started restringing these beads and stones and - WOW! - I found I loved it!!

The next step was to start buying stones and crystals and beads and findings to fill in with the dwindling supply of older beads.  I hate to admit it, but I am so addicted!  I have found other jewelry artists (we ARE artists), were more than willing to give me advice, tips, and assistance in learning new techniques.  I have so much enthusiasm for what I can do and design and make, that I moved from a very small secretary desk, to a larger roll-top desk, to our basement.  I am slowly filling that once dark, dank space with light and color.  What a hoot!

I love reading the ideas and tips and stories of the other members, it has reinforced my desire to keep beading!

Next.........silver clay!

Donna

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 1,948
SEllen 2 wrote
on Sep 20, 2012 10:40 AM

Donna Welcome to the forums

You sound like most of us here.*L* 

We all find ourselves taking over more and more space in our homes/studios for our precious, sparkling beauties. They do need lots of room don't they.Wink

I hope you will drop in often and chat with us and give us a chance to get to know you and your work.

see ya in the posts

sellen Smile

southwest Texas USA

Top 500 Contributor