Beading classes & your favorite blogs

This post has 10 Replies | 2 Followers
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 29
on Sep 19, 2012 7:16 AM

Hi All!  I'm what you would call a "newbie" here so I hope you won't mind my asking questions that have surely been asked and answered before.  I would like to take a beginners class on beading and am not sure how to find one.  Any recommendations?  Do large craft stores teach them?  I am in central Ohio and in a very rural area but am willing to drive to Columbus or another city. 

Also, I'd love to see some of your favorite bead blogs!  I'm sure they are out there... mind sharing your links?? 

Thanks in advance!  So glad to be here!

Kristin

~Kristin

My Blog (started long BEFORE I started beading!):  Sunshine, Smiles & Stamps= Lovin' Life

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 1,960
SEllen 2 wrote
on Sep 19, 2012 1:02 PM

Hi Kristin & Welcome to the forums

First let me say I am a self taught beader. I've never had the oppertunity to take classes.

I believe that some large craft stores do have classes but I'm not possitive.

Look in or around your area for an LBS (Local Bead Store) most of those will either offer classes or their staff will be able to give you assistance on "How To"

There are some great how to basics on line. Some of my favorites are: Auntie's Beads, BeadFusion,Fire Mountain Gems.

Some of my fave blogs are: labellajoya.blogspot (Marcie is a member here although she hasn't been around in awhile)

maddesignsbeads.blogspot (this one is Marcia DeCoster's blog she's a published bead artist) also

inspirationalbeading.blogspot also you may want to check out beadandbutton.com (the other beading mag site) as well as beadsbaublesandjewels.com

You'll also see several of our current members have their blog addys in their signitures at the bottom of each of their posts.