Question on booth prices

This post has 8 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 5
lrutland wrote
on Aug 12, 2012 11:36 AM

Hi All,

There is a yearly craft show coming up at a local church.  It is a three day event and fairly well attended.  The price for a booth is $150.00.  I am new at this and I really don’t know if this is a good price of am I being rip off.

Thanks,

Linda

www.tradewindbeads.net

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 1,502
D.M.Z wrote
on Aug 12, 2012 11:56 AM

Linda, even a historically "well attended" church bazaar might not be that good this year. I have several pals who sell at shows and such and they are all earning much less than in past years. At an upscale flea market we used to pay $40 for two tables for one day.......

I guess it depends on how big a city you are in, how much advertisement goes out, and whether you have someone who can give you some breaks.........standing on your feet for three days is just horrid, no potty breaks is not fun either. When we sold, hubby would watch my stuff and ditto, but there was always someone waiting for me when I got back from my 5 minute trip to the restrooms. Donna

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 583
shanks wrote
on Aug 12, 2012 3:20 PM

Location, location,location.  That would be way too much if you were put in the basement (been there). I would ask what the attendance was at the last one and find out where you would be if you were assigned a space. For that price you should be in a high traffic area. Good luck!

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 1,959
SEllen 2 wrote
on Aug 12, 2012 3:25 PM

Hi Linda,

Your $150.00 for a 3 day show only comes to $50.00 a day. In my part of the country a one day show can cost anywhere from $90 - $150.00 for a single booth.  But if you're uncertain you might check with your local chamber of commerce and see if they have a listing of shows/events in your area and what their fees are. This might give you a guide of how wide a range of fees and where your event fits into them.