How do I finish a loomwork bracelet ends so I may add a clasp.

This post has 22 Replies | 5 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 2
Jim Moore wrote
on Dec 19, 2011 5:50 AM

Greeting all...

I am a retired Jeweler (an 80 year old hippie)

I have searched for a week to find an answer to this question and as of this writing I have not found one.

The answers I have found end with "then add an appropriate clasp" ???

The bracelets I make now are only 8 warp threads deep (wide). I have a pretty good end for that size.

I would like to make a deeper bracelet to make a larger design. Any thing deeper  than 8 warps threads just doesn't cut it.

Anybody out there have a simple answer?

Hugs and Happiness to all suffering beings..

Jim Moore

silverknots.etsy.com

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 39
on Dec 20, 2011 3:23 PM

They make a finding called a ribbon crimp, they come in all sorts of sizes and simply crimp over the end of your work ( think like a binder clip, only much, much prettier and without the little arms). 

Another way you could go would be to mount your loomwork piece on a piece of beading foundation, and then mount the bead foundation to a metal cuff form. All you would have to do then is finish the back with ultrasuede or some other material, and you don't have to worry about a clasp at all!

Not Ranked
Posts 2
Jim Moore wrote
on Dec 21, 2011 3:02 AM

Many Thanks!

Not Ranked
Posts 7
Beadicted wrote
on Apr 14, 2013 12:55 PM

I did that several times, and it shattered the beads and dangled on a thread and then became removable easily even when cramped. I wouldn't recommend that information if you're looking to make a necklace piece. As far as the suggestion to put it on a backing, maybe that would work but it's not the look I'm going for on my current piece of loomwork (a translucent, frosted necklace).

Are there any other clasp end possibilities for loom pieces?

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 1,354
D.M.Z wrote
on Apr 14, 2013 2:26 PM