New to Beading -- Attaching to Leather and Other Questions

This post has 7 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
mattison wrote
on Jul 10, 2011 8:37 PM

Hello everyone,

I am completely new to beading, so I apologize for the questions I am about to ask if they are silly.

I would love to make a beaded leather belt for my sisters and young cousins. I want to basically have a leather belt, but with beading on it. How can I do this? Do I have to sew beads to the leather? Do I sew them to fabric and then sew the fabric to leather?

I want to make something like this: http://www.exoticafrica.com/shop/pics/bt1.jpg

Could anyone direct me on what I need and how I get started?

Thank you for your time,

Whitney

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 781
Tia Dalma wrote
on Jul 10, 2011 10:54 PM

Hi Whitney and welcome to Beading Daily!

That photo is so small that I couldn't tell if the beadwork was loomed or embroidered...but both are good techniques for this project!

I think that beading directly onto the leather is possible however it would be hard and take forever! Stitching on leather usually requires a very sharp pointy "leather needle" or you would poke holes in the leather with an awl before you start to stitch on the leather.

So I would recommend that you either loom a piece of beadwork in the length and width needed to fit the leather belt that you choose...and then stitch it to a backing of some sort (like ultrasuede) and then glue that down to the leather. Then finish it with some stitches around the edges for reinforcement!

You can glue your beadwork straight onto the leather but the glue can get all squished up into your beadwork and that might now always looks so pretty!

Or, you could embroider your beadwork design onto a backing of some sort and then glue that down to the leather belt and add some stitching around the edges for reinforcement!