How do you price???

This post has 91 Replies | 4 Followers
wrote
on Jan 8, 2009 6:25 AM

I agree as well.  While I am attempting to make more of a business out of my beadwork, I still fall more into the hobbyist category than the pro.  While I have 12 yrs of beading experience and consider myself an advanced level beader, I surely don't have a degree to back that up, and I don't yet make my living from what I do, although it would be nice.

I wholeheartedly support the art of beading as a whole, from casual crafter to artisan.  The members of BD represent all levels, so we definitely want to learn from and respect each other.  I don't think anyone has meant any disrespect, only trying to show different perspectives, and that's a good thing.  Any tips I can use to better represent my work as art is definitely appreciated!

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 711
LitaC2 wrote
on Jan 9, 2009 10:30 AM

Ah, pricing... the eternal question.  When I was 14 years old (over 3 lifetimes ago!), and immersed in silversmithing, I had a conversation with several very adult craftspeople about pricing.  None of them could agree on a formula, because each of them had different crafts - the lapiderist couldn't just take the cost of his raw materials, he had to factor equipment depreciation and lapidary supply costs (overhead), but the weaver didn't really have such costs - her looms were generational.  The knitter didn't even understand the concept of overhead.

But one thing they all agreed on was that (1) you must never undervalue the cost of your labor, (2) you had to be realistic when pricing your labor vis-a-vis your materials cost, and (3) you had to understand your market, which meant both the venue and the times.  That was good advice in 1979, and I think it's still good advice.