How to secure elastic?

This post has 12 Replies | 1 Follower
Not Ranked
Posts 15
on Jul 28, 2008 11:51 AM

I am just starting to use elastic to string necklaces and bracelets.  I successfully finished a shell necklace and secured the knot w/some bead glue as suggested by a co-worker.  However, when I went to do the same for a bracelet it came apart even after letting it dry for 24 hours.  If anyone has some suggestions on how to secure elastic w/o using crimps and hooks that would be great (unless there is no other alternative)Smile

Thanks,

Stephanie

I teach for a living what's your super power?

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 2,815
ForumModerator
Sheila H wrote
on Jul 28, 2008 12:38 PM

I always use a crimp. Depending on the size of the bead, you can crimp and then hide it inside a bead. It may not stay there, but that is what I do. If you can't hide it, you can always use a cover. 

There are some great postings about crimping if you scroll thru ( if you need help on the crimping part ). 

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 55
Mortira wrote
on Jul 28, 2008 3:31 PM

By elastic, do you mean stretch cord?  If you're not doing it already, two over hand knots is the best way to secure the ends, as long as the adjacent bead is large enough to hide the knot.

Make sure you have about 3 inches or more of cord more than the finished length of the item.  Tie a loose overhand knot, then place a darning needle or other narrow tube into the knot and push it down as close to the beads as possible.  Tighten the knot, remove the needle and pull once more on the cord ends to tighten.  Tie a second knot the same way if you can.  Then add glue, and pull one of the adjacent beads over the knots.  They will dry inside the bead, and should stay put for as long as the cord itself lasts.

Hope this helps!

Morti

Inspirational Beading - tutorials, bead spotlights and plenty of inspiration!

Not Ranked
Posts 15
on Jul 28, 2008 5:28 PM