Bead Star 2011 Submissions to close Friday, 5pm Eastern time!

This post has 126 Replies | 14 Followers
Top 10 Contributor
Posts 3,624
Cat_P wrote
on Apr 26, 2011 12:17 PM

FlowerBead:

I really hope they take the vote count off too.  As someone with 2 necklaces in the contest with one vote each (and yes, I did vote for myself) it is a little embarrassing.  I got to say though - the pieces in my catagories were all really great and I probably wouldn't have voted for my own if it wasn't my own. 

It made it to finals didn't it? That should make you proud! Yours was chosen out of many to be there and that's an accomplishment itself!

Cat     Blog  Artfire  Etsy

Top 200 Contributor
Posts 99
on Apr 26, 2011 12:29 PM
I agree. take vote count off .I like many pieces and I vote for all of them. this is my first time on this blog and I am sure is not going to be the last. all of yo u Ladies are sooooooo talented I and I wish I can do the work all of you do. My jewerly making is very simple and so far I use only pearls.well that is it for now. I born in another country and write in inglish is not my forte.see you later......
Not Ranked
Posts 10
CathMarissa wrote
on Apr 26, 2011 2:11 PM

I think any contest {even if open to only a certain group} has the potential to be a popularity contest.  In this case, it could become a popular in the beading community contest.  I'm not saying it will, but just another way to look at it.  I'm kinda like Erin.  I have probably 5 family members & friends that would actually come over and vote if it was open to the public, so not enough to sway my votes much (but I can see how someone with a big Twitter/Facebook following could really change the voting). ;)

Also, this is my 3rd year in the contest.  The first year, I had two pieces in the finals and mentioned it on my blog - - I didn't place.  Last year, I made it in the finals and didn't mention the contest at all- - then did place.  Kinda funny how that turned out.