Can't afford Sterling Silver

This post has 19 Replies | 5 Followers
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 30
DedeeP wrote
on Feb 22, 2011 3:51 PM

I can't afford Sterling Silver wire and since I am a beginner I am thinking of ordering the Sterling Silver Filled wire from FMG. I was curious if anyone has used it and what they think.  I will be making simple rings and pendants. Very basic stuff that  I don't want to tarnish fast and when it does, clean like silver. I am also curious what gauge would be best to learn with and what strength. I have played around with dead soft aluminum (i think) from Hobby lobby   and a craft type wire  I bought at walmart it is pretty stiff.

I got my 1st SBS Wire Jewelry magazine and love it. There a cute pin I want to try to make a simpler variation of.  It requires hammering/flattening wire.  Can plated or coated wire be flattened or manipulated like precious metal wire?

Also: I really want to work with half round and square wire. Does anyone know of a affordable wire I can get  that are shaped other than round?

I appreciate any advise thanks

Dedee

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 868
MysticP wrote
on Feb 22, 2011 4:14 PM

Hi, Dedee!

Personally, when I don't want to splurge on sterling, I like to use German Silver as a cheaper option. I like it because the color goes all the way through the wire, unlike with silver plated copper where the plating tends to rub off. It's soft enough to work with, the color is very white, and it doesn't tarnish quickly. And I've never seen it leave a residue on my skin, where aluminum can leave a dark residue on some people.