Let's talk mixed-media jewelry!

This post has 26 Replies | 19 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 13
ForumModerator
Debbie.Blair wrote
on Dec 6, 2010 8:38 AM

What materials and techniques do you like to use in your mixed-media or handcrafted jewelry? Do you make it for yourself, or as a gift for others?

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 620
Erin@76 wrote
on Dec 16, 2010 9:39 AM

I've been using scraps of leather lately, and also lots of scrapbook paper coated in resin. Love blank metal discs which can be hammered, stamped, punched and dapped!

Erin S

www.studioEgallery.etsy.com

Not Ranked
Posts 1
ShannonL@15 wrote
on Jan 12, 2011 9:25 PM

I love all sorts of materials. Polymer, paper, wire, beads, grungeboard, UTEE, metal parts especially Tim Holtz, found objects, whatever seems interesting. It's a challenge to try and put them together in a cohesive beautiful and interesting way. I have sold a few pieces but I'm not very good at marketing my jewelry so I mostly make it for myself and as gifts. I have found my passion though and hope I can always bead. Even if I,m in a nursing home,HAHA.

S. Latona

Top 200 Contributor
Posts 122
appatite wrote
on Mar 11, 2011 2:46 PM

Seconded on the hammered metal! Hammering metal plates/charms can create an amazing organic look. I also enjoy using stones, wood or coral coated in sterling silver or gold vermeille.

Stones and Findings

www.stonesandfindings.com

Top 200 Contributor
Posts 127
jamberrysong wrote
on Mar 23, 2011 4:21 PM

I'm fond of using natural/organic materials like paper, wood, and stone. :) Wire-wrapping goes so nicely with things like pebbles and water-smoothed pieces of beach glass.

"We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams." - Willy Wonka

"It is only with the heart that one can see clearly; what's essential is invisible to the eye." - Fox, The Little Prince

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 76
on May 16, 2011 10:55 AM