Afraid my jewelry is not good enough to sell

This post has 11 Replies | 1 Follower
Not Ranked
Posts 4
cjbean wrote
on Jul 25, 2009 10:48 AM

Hello,

I have been beading as hobby for 3 years now.  I have tons of beads.  But I purchased them from a retail hobby store.

I am self taught, and learn from magazines, books and the internet.  I give my designs away as gifts and always get good feed back.  My parents , husband and daughter all think I should start selling it, but I am worried I do not measure up to , well ,you guys.

I am in the early stages of setting up shop on Etsy.   I ordered an ebook on it because I need help.  My situation is, I look at other peoples jewelry and most of what I see is amazing and the techniques like seed beading and so forth is something I do not know how to do.  I am basically a stringer, wire wrapper.  My family thinks my designs are pretty.

However, right now I am using beads mostly purchased from Michaels (but not plastic!) The beads I am using are pretty and not cheesy.  But should I hold off and create designs with the high end "bead shop" beads.  They are so expensive!  When Etsy asks

me to write down the materials and description, I don't know what to put, I can't very well

describe my design as "rare" or Genuine Gem stones purchased from Michaels. And of course I will not embellish (lie) about the materials.  What do you guys think?

I would love to show you my jewelry, but I do not have a website or anything.  If anyone is willing to allow me to email them a photo to give me feedback that would be great. If not because of privicy, I understand.

But, please if anyone can tell me if I am not ready based on what I have told you about my skill level and the materials I am using that would be great.

Thanks Guys.

Cathy

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 1,954
SEllen 2 wrote
on Jul 25, 2009 11:16 AM

Hi Cathy,