Hello from new beader in Copenhagen,Denmark

This post has 1 Reply | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 14
MeaganK wrote
on Jul 10, 2013 9:06 AM

Hello, I'm an American ex-pat living in Denmark. I'm 38 years old, married to a Dane and mother to a wonderful 18 month old son. I literally just began beading last week! I had been looking for something to do with my time-I'm a part-time student and I get summers and holidays free. I missed being creative-my creativity literally stopped once I moved here due to not know how to get things, not knowing anyone, having not much money,etc. I tried knitting,but I think I need a class to better understand it past making scarves ;). I used to play music,but that's been on hold. Then, I stumbled upon bead weaving and I fell in love! It's relatively inexpensive and relatively easy. It will also help me on my patience and concentration,I guess ;). My son is in daycare for 6 hours a day-long enough for me to exercise,clean and get some beading done.
Any tips,advice, hints, or other, I would love to hear it!

I do have a question,which I think I'll also post separately,but I'll mention it here. I'm currently attempting to make my mother in-law a herringbone bracelet for her birthday for Saturday. I am using larger seed beads-the holes are bigger than normal as well. I'm also using these pretty kind of diamond-y beads-not sure what they're all called as there was no label for them at the store-there are the kind sold at 10 pieces in a little baggy-kind of expensive. I started to use my nylon  string which is .006 inches-I guess,but it was too difficult,so I switched to a regular white knitting string as it's all I had around. Am I completely going to regret using this string? Is it going to fall apart the first time she wears it? Advice please! Thanks!

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 1,977
SEllen 2 wrote
on Jul 10, 2013 10:43 AM

Hi MeganK

I replied to your other post about your project. So, I won't reply to that here.