Hi there and a question about bead weaving thread

This post has 7 Replies | 1 Follower
Not Ranked
Posts 2
NeedBeads wrote
on Apr 17, 2013 5:29 PM

Hello everyone, this is my first time on the Forum and it looks to be a very informative place, so I am looking forward to reading everyones tips etc.

I also would like to ask a question about which beading thread is the best to use for off loom bead weaving.

My main requirement is something that will hold its shape well even with heavier designs but it must be fine enough to make several passes through the seed beads also. I have made a lovely bracelet tonight with 6mm crystals and pearl seed beads but it just has no substance to it and, possibly partly due to the weight, just kind of flops down the wrist when it is worn.

I felt that I had kept my tension maintained, but perhaps I didnt pull the thread as much as I needed to? I used Nymo for this project btw.

I have read up about loads of different threads, Fireline, Wildfire, Silamide etc etc. I am not sure which out of these would be the most likely to help me to keep my work sturdy. Or is this more than a thread issue do you think?

Any personal recommendations on any threads that are good for this purpose would be so useful, and any other tips that you lovely people may be able to give me will also be most gratefully received!

Many thanks in advance, I look forward to hearing from you Big Smile

x

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 1,459
D.M.Z wrote
on Apr 17, 2013 7:53 PM