So frustrated with my inability to weave anything!

This post has 19 Replies | 1 Follower
Not Ranked
Posts 16
on Mar 8, 2013 11:06 AM

Hi everyone – I’m a beading newbie but have jumped into the deep end of the pool, have my own etsy store, am building my inventory to start selling at shows by this fall, the whole 9 yards. I LOVE beading on wire and do it every day.

My problem is this: threaded off-loom bead weaving is not my friend! I DESPERATELY want to learn how to weave my beautiful seed beads but I’ve been a miserable failure! First of all, it takes an hour just to thread a beading needle (half the time my husband has to do it for me) and second of all my hands refuse to learn how to do even the simplest of stitches! I took a class on doing a pair of outside brick stitch earrings and it was pretty sad. It was a 2 hour class and I only managed to get thru 2/3 of the way through with just one earring. I brought the instructions home and tried and tried to make the 2nd earring but gave up in disgust because my hands wouldn’t do what I wanted them to do.

I’ve tried following  dozens of how-to videos, studied “simple step-by-step peyote stitch for beginners” and I find it impossible to determine where to begin the 2nd row –  I’ve not gotten past my 5th bead on a peyote stitch after having tried 6 times (once the beads aren’t in a straight line, how do I know which bead to re-thread? I can’t determine which row is which!). Then I figured ok I’ll try a brick stitch but I couldn’t even figure out how to do the ladder stitch (how do I make the beads sit on top of each other??) I will sit in front of a how-to video, pausing every few seconds to follow the instructions, but what I do looks nothing like what the person in the video is doing – not even at the very beginning!

I’m so frustrated at myself! I’m 45 and have never worked with my hands and I’m thinking I’m an old dog trying to learn a new trick and it just can’t be done. *sigh*