Creating Beaded Horse Tack

This post has 12 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 4
on Feb 2, 2013 12:46 PM

Hi everyone,

I am new to the forum, as semi-new to beading.  I work with seed beeds and do brick, peyote, and loomwork, and a little bit of embroidery.  I am looking to create my first horse tack set (western breast collar and one-ear headstall.)  However, I'm not sure what stitch would be best. 

I would consider doing a tubular peyote for the headstall as the diameter of the leather is not so large.  However, there is no way I'm doing it for the breast collar because it is a pretty solid and wide piece of leather. I'm trying to figure out how to back the beadwork, if I need to, how to, etc.  I've never done much of any real backing before.  I also am at a loss as to what backing material to use.

I need a material that is very sturdy, won't rot or tear with heavy use or by getting covered in horse sweat.  Obviously, I'd like to use leather.  However, I don't know too much about leather.  What kinds are appropriate?  I've heard buckskin will rot with horse sweat.  And is there a type of thread that is more appropriate to use to take my beadwork onto the backing?  (something again, that wont rot when exposed to the elements).

Thanks for all your feedback everyone!  I'm very excited about this project!

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 1,505
D.M.Z wrote
on Feb 2, 2013 5:40 PM