Questions re: Different Stitches

This post has 2 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 3
Jude@19 wrote
on Dec 20, 2012 1:23 AM

Okay, first off, I'm relatively new to bead weaving but I'm very good at following printed instructions. As a result, I can make beaded jewelry up to the intermediate difficulty level. I don't just wish to bead various pieces designed by others though but to come up some of my own designs - designs I can imagine though not how to execute. 

To that end, I feel it's important to not just know how to do the different bead weaving stitches but why they're used. For example, why choose to bezel a cabochon using peyote rather than right angle? That's just one question (among many) I have about bead weaving. I really want to understand the reasons behind the different stitches. To me, it's very important. How and where can I learn more please? 

I asked this question in another forum and only had two responses. One mentioned checking out Jean Campbells Stitch Pro in Beadwork magazine and Jean writes a good column in which I've learned lots. But not enough. The other reply mentioned taking bead classes but it's not practical for me. I'd prefer to have something online that I could print out so I could refer to it until it's been hardwired into my brain. 

Thank you for any help!

Jude

Jude's-Jewels - Top quality & careful attention to every piece made!

Top 75 Contributor
Posts 517
tcwhit wrote
on Dec 20, 2012 6:48 AM

I've had the same thoughts. I'm going to follow this post and see what others have to say. Some things just work better for shapes and for draping niccely. I can never decide what to use where and so far it just "happens" as I try to figure out a thread path for where I want the beads.

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 1,557
D.M.Z wrote
on Feb 22, 2013 11:31 AM