Hello! I'm new...and curious about Russian beading...

This post has 8 Replies | 1 Follower
Not Ranked
Posts 7
limonka65 wrote
on Nov 23, 2012 12:23 AM

Hello!  I would like to introduce myself, but before I do, I'll put my first question up front: does anyone know how I can find out about Russian beading patterns?

My name is Alaina. Three months ago, I dislocated my ankle in a freak roller derby accident, and had to have surgery.  Learning to weave with beads has saved me from depression.  Handling the beads, playing with the colors...I  weaned off meds by doing "one more row first," over and over.  I made about 15 bracelets so far, with peyote, brick (the magatamas turn out like dragon skin!), herringbone, and St. Petersburg chain.  I give them to my friends. I think about the friend while I make the bracelet, and I feel less lonely.

By profession, I write and teach at a university, mostly about Russian culture.  I think it is fascinating that beaders in the US studied St. Petersburg stich from pictures in old Soviet books.  Does anyone know more about this history, and about how these books got here?  Is anyone out there from Russia, or know any Russian beaders?

I have really enjoyed reading your posts so far!  So my second question is: what else do you like to do, and what has beading taught you about how to do those other things?

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 1,503
D.M.Z wrote
on Nov 23, 2012 1:23 AM

Alaina, all I can say about Russian beading patterns is that when one finds a pattern in a foreign language, not just Russian........you have to really work at figuring out how the item was made. Other than that I know someone who toured Russia and brought home book, but I'd bet you could buy them online. I just bought a book from England, easy peasy, your credit card company figures the exchange rate and does it. I don't try to figure out foreign patterns myself, I am basically a loomer. Donna

Not Ranked
Posts 7
limonka65 wrote
on Nov 23, 2012 1:50 AM