Where can i find cheap beadd embroidery supplies?

This post has 12 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 16
ilovebeads96 wrote
on Jan 17, 2012 1:12 AM

Hi im a beginner in bead embroidery and i dont want to spend alot of money on materials so can someone tell me where to buy cheap supplies? Also can someone recomend a good book for beginners on bead embroidery? Thank you!!!!!!

Top 150 Contributor
Posts 182
lasexybuda wrote
on Jan 17, 2012 12:12 PM

Welcome to the Forum ilovebeads,

If you can find "Dimensional Bead Embroidery"by Jamie Cloud Eakin

book, is a valuable instructional tool for bead-embroidery for all

skill levels, your on the way.

Happy beading and good luck

Irene from the enchanted Island

Happy beading!

Top 75 Contributor
Posts 546
CryssT wrote
on Jan 17, 2012 3:47 PM

Cheap may be where your budget is at, but not always the way to go.  

What you want is the best deal on supplies.   I have switched over to Tulip needles, they work well for me and not only last but don't get bent (so far).  Fireline can be purchased at a sporting good store cheaper than most online beading companies or you can go for the multi-7color pack which has 30 yards per roll, just to try the colors.  As far as beads, it depends on what you're doing but for Delicas, I was going to suggest Fox Den but she recently moved and has not reopened for business.  Others here can make great suggestions.  Remember to check Craigs List - sometimes I get great buys on beads there.  Always check your LBS (Local Beading Store) this time of year is great due to clearances for inventory because of taxes.  Hope this helps you some.

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 780
Tia Dalma wrote
on Jan 17, 2012 7:13 PM

I was going to say the same thing CryssT said...you don't have to spend alot of money on supplies but don't get "cheap" supplies or you will have "cheap" beadwork that will not be as nice as you probably want it to be!