Soldering Questions

This post has 11 Replies | 0 Followers
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 1,237
popnicute wrote
on Aug 25, 2008 6:29 AM

1. What material can be used as soldering pad?

2. How long does it take to make a sterling silver balled pin? i tried to burn one today (18ga) and after a minute or two i didn't see any progress :O

3. How to make a ball at the end of a design like in Iza Malczyk designs? example: http://www.izamalczyk.com/en/gallery-1-267-1780.html (the balls at the end of the coils)

I'm sorry for so many questions.. i'm really new at this ^^;

Note: i only have sterling silver wires.

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 3,336
ForumModerator
SCB1 wrote
on Aug 25, 2008 7:20 PM

When I solder which isn't often I use a brick. Just a plan old clay brick. I can't give you any idea how long is should take to make a bead on the end of your wire. I am however sure it depends on the gauge of your wire. The larger the wire the longer it will take to get to  the melting point.

I almost forgot to ask if you are using the hotest part of the flame? The blue flame is the hotest so be sure you have you wire in that part of the flame.

Happy Beading!!

Sue,

Small-town USA. 

Michigan.

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 1,237
popnicute wrote
on Aug 25, 2008 8:40 PM

ah.. thanks, sue!

i just grabbed the first wire i saw in the box and tried it XD i'm so impatient ^^;

what about the third question? anyone know? i'm so inexperienced in soldering.. never held one in my life before Embarrassed should i ball the wire before i coil it into the design? or there is a way to add a ball after the design's done?

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 2,145
on Aug 26, 2008 9:18 AM

Sue B:

When I solder which isn't often I use a brick. Just a plan old clay brick.  <SNIP>

Fire brick would last longer than an ordinary clay brick, and fire brick doesn't have those holes through them.

Stan B.

Stan B.

Lakeland, MN

USA

Ignorance is curable; Stupidity has neither cure nor excuse.

Not Ranked
Posts 1