Keeping track of peyote stitch pattern

This post has 8 Replies | 4 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
on Aug 6, 2011 9:07 AM

I am new to the delights of peyote stitch patterns.  What are some techniques for keeping track of where I am on each row?  Are sticky notes the easiest way?  I have tried overlapping the blank graph layout, but often the actual pattern is a different size from the generic graph layout sheets.  Thank you.

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 567
Beadiecat wrote
on Aug 6, 2011 11:50 AM

What I do is put the pattern inside a plastic sleeve, like the kind you use to hold paper in a three-ring binder.  Then I mark on the plastic with a dry-erase marker as I complete each row.  You can even put a dot with the marker in each bead space if you want.  Sometimes I also enlarge the pattern on a copy machine to make it easier to see before I put it in the sleeve.

Hope this helps!

Cat

The Cat's Meow Blog

My RebelMouse page and Etsy shop

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 643
untmom2003 wrote
on Aug 11, 2011 6:51 AM

good idea, Beadiecat! I too have a problem keeping track within the pattern. I've not done many patterned ones because of it. Also, maybe bc I'm a "Lefty", but my brain must work differently, bc I HAVE to have the pattern turned the way I am stitching in order to make sense of it. Now, saying that, I will probably need to figure out a way to copy the pattern in reverse to put on the back side of the sheet, since I "flip" my work, instead of working down to up, up to down. Does that make sense? I'm a very VISUAL person, and for example, starting a herringbone stitch with the ladder stitch I feel like I'm in remedial stitching, pre-101!!! Takes me awhile to get the darned thing started, but then I'm fine! Will keep watching this thread for other helpful ideas!

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 72
tiger@4 wrote
on Aug 11, 2011 9:44 AM