Designing Process.

This post has 9 Replies | 0 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 16
JStimel wrote
on Aug 1, 2008 9:05 AM

How do you design. I just string and do a little wire work. While I love some looks of off-loom stiching and bead work, that is not for me. What I would like to know is what is your process of creating a piece. I know Michelle our lovely editor did a blog about this do you draw or just create, I still have some questions.

When I sit down to bead and actually feel inspired I can create anywhere from 4 to 6 pieces an hour. I just want to know if anyone else works like that or is it just me? I love everything that I create and it is fun an da good stress releiver and believe me right now I need all stress relief I can get right now I feel wierd when I am with a good of other beaders and they have only created one or almost one anyway in an hour and I have 2-3 pieces already finished I sometimes feel like I am not a real designer. I don't copy from books. Sometimes I look through my magazines for inspiration though most of the time I sit with my stash out in front of me and just start creating.

Am I wierd or are there other people out there that do this? I have a lot of free time although that is about to change so I can sit almost everyday in front of my stash and create so maybe that's why? I really don't get interupted alot. Just my husband or maybe my brother. I have no childern so no demands on time that way. I have no pets, I am about to go back to college so that will take up some time and I am the organizer for SWFL Jewelry Making/Beadwork Meetup group so I put a little time in that. But we get together once a month and once a week to bead, hang out and just escape into the world of beads. it is really alot of fun. I also create more when there are people around. I feel like I feed off any creative vibe that gets in my way.